PTSA BOARD MEETING ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 7 @ 7PM

All community members are welcome to attend our next PTSA Board Meeting on Monday, December 7 at 7pm via Microsoft Teams:

Microsoft Teams meeting
Join on your computer or mobile app
Click here to join the meeting
Or call in (audio only)
+1 206-800-4787,,741371738#
Phone Conference ID: 741 371 738#

To inquire about accommodations to attend this event, please contact ptsaexec@bryantschool.org.

Agenda items will include:

  • Principal’s update
  • Annual Campaign (Fundraising) report
  • Community Engagement update
  • Equity discussion: Teacher Reps to share related curriculum information

We hope you can join us!

Bryant PTSA Budget Proposal & Survey Results are in!

The PTSA Board invites you to preview the draft agenda and content for the October 13th meeting now.  You’ll find a summary of the September community survey and proposals for new PTSA standing rules and 2020-2021 budget revisions published online here.  We hope this preview provides time to consider any questions or feedback.  We welcome your thoughts and questions in advance at ptsaexec@bryantschool.org. 

In the September survey, we heard from several community members who are interested in increasing our monetary and non-monetary supports for kids furthest from educational justice in our city’s public schools.  We’ll be reflecting on this topic of resource-sharing in our Equity discussion in the upcoming October 13th meeting.  We hope that you will join us in this conversation and effort to advance equity in our district.
In the October meeting, Bryant PTSA Membership will be asked to vote on:

• Election of new officers to the Executive committee
• Revised PTSA budget for 2020-2021
• New and revised standing rules

Not a PTSA member yet this year? Signing up is easy!

Membership questions?  Email membership@bryantschool.org

The first PTSA General Membership meeting of the school year will be on Tuesday, October 13 at 7:00pm via Microsoft Teams. 

Click to join Microsoft Teams meeting.
For audio conferencing, dial: +1 206-800-4787
Conference ID: 571 894 081#  

English live captions are available for this meeting, using any recent version of the Teams app (desktop or mobile app).  More info here.

To inquire about accommodations to attend this event, please contact ptsaexec@bryantschool.org.

Thank you,
Bryant PTSA Board 

2020-21 Meeting Schedule

Meetings are Tuesdays at 7pm via Microsoft Teams, unless otherwise noted. (General Meetings are in bold)

 

September 15, 2020
Minutes | Budget |Treasurer Overview

October 13,2020
Minutes | Budget | September Financials    

November 10, 2020
Minutes | Budget

(Monday) December 7, 2020
Minutes | Budget

January 12, 2021
Minutes | Budget

February 9, 2021
Minutes | Budget

March 9, 2021
Minutes | Budget

April 6, 2021
Minutes | Budget

May 11, 2021
Minutes | Financials | Proposed 2021-2022 Budget

June 8, 2021
Minutes | Financials | Approved 2021-2022 Budget

Passed: Bryant PTSA Resolution on Anti-Racism

Want to know why Minneapolis is burning?

Mama. He called Mama.

At least that’s why I want to burn, why I feel like I could scream until flames rip out of my throat. He has called up great power. I want all of us to turn, all of us who have heard Mama in a store and thought it meant us. It’s time to turn. White mamas, mamas with privilege, you have been summoned. And any of us who have ever cried out Mama, we hear it too, down in our bones. It’s a cry that can’t go unanswered anymore. So Minneapolis burns. And we need to gut all the spaces in our lives where systemic racism has quarter.

I think of the other mamas who turned a tide: Emmett Till’s, for one. We speak out of the deep mystery from whence all life springs. My white people: Nurture antiracism in your life like you would a child in your arms, even if you’ve only just heard it named. Learn what it means and how to foster it. Care about it, give it space in your life. Come to understand it, even if it’s difficult and challenges everything.

Mama is coming. And the men who make order in the world should be very afraid.

~Mary Helen Kennerly

PTSA Resolution on Anti-Racism

As PTSA leadership we are parents; many of us are Mama.  We have been summoned, and now is the time to answer, not simply with platitudes, but with action.  In PTSA that action takes the form of resolutions and policy.  It is time for us to acknowledge that we can be racist or anti-racist, but we cannot be neutral.  It is time for us to acknowledge our power, as well as the existence and pervasiveness of systemic racism.  It is time for us to fight for the education of our children in the hope that doing so will save the lives of our black and brown children and all children furthest from educational justice.

Whereas “the most fundamental right is the right to live” 1 and that right is being denied to black people across this country and in Seattle;

whereas systemic racism is embedded in every aspect of this country, including public schools;

whereas systemic racism in our school system is a major factor in the opportunity gap between white and black students;

whereas  we must choose whether to be a racist or anti-racist organization as there is no neutral space;

whereas PTA moves toward “every child. One voice,” but the voices and needs of black children continue to be left out and unheard;

Resolved, that Bryant PTSA commits to being an anti-racist organization.

Educates our PTSA members on issues related to anti-racism through hosting parent education events, providing anti-racism books and resources for families, and by including information on anti-racism in every PTSA Board Meeting.

Actively works to center the voices of our families furthest from educational justice by engaging with families.

Actively works with our school, Seattle Public Schools, the City of Seattle, and the State of Washington to provide opportunities and funding for professional development for anti-racism work.

 1Ibram X. Kendi https://www.facebook.com/ibramxkendi/

Bryant Blast – Save the Date!

The Bryant Blast is planned for Saturday, May 2nd from 12 pm – 4 pm.  Save the date for pony rides, fun games and activities, sno-cones, tasty food and much, much more! 

Wanna help plan the Blast?  We’ll be sending a sign-up for volunteer shifts right after Spring Break.  If you have a favorite job at the Blast, you can sign up early!  Contact the Blast Committee if you’re interested in helping.

Thank you to these Local Businesses for Contributing to our 2020 Online Auction

Business Name Website
8 Limbs Yoga https://8limbsyoga.com/
Acorn Street Shop www.acornstreet.com
Alexis Landry https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2102860
All Together Skate Park https://www.alltogetherskatepark.com/
Alpha Martial Arts www.alphamartialarts.com
Andrew Franklin, DDS www.andrewfranklindds.com
AR Workshop Seattle https://www.arworkshop.com/seattle
Ba Bar University Village babarseattle.com
Bagel Oasis seattlebageloasis.com
barre3 Seattle https://barre3.com/
Bischofberger Violins http://www.bviolinsltd.com/
Body & Brain Yoga Tai Chi – Wedgwood www.bodynbrain.com/wedgwood
Bryant Corner Cafe http://www.thebryantcornercafe.com/
Burke Gilman Brewing http://www.burkegilmanbrewing.com/
Cafe Lladro https://www.caffeladro.com/locations/ravenna-caffe-ladro/
Calluna www.callunaseattle.com
Carol Calbom Tutoring  
Cascade Bicycle Studio http://www.cascadebicyclestudio.com/
Celtic Soccer https://www.seattleceltic.com/
City Eyeworks https://cityeyeworks.com/
City People’s Mercantile citypeoples.com
Community Fitness www.communityfitness.com
Conservation Catalyst www.conservationcatalyst.org
Creative Dance Center https://www.creativedance.org/
da Pino Restaurant https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2107350
DaisySkyStudio daisysky.com
Dance Fremont dancefremont.com
Duchess Tavern https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2114591
Duke’s Seafood https://www.dukesseafood.com/
Ebb & Company www.ebbandcompany.com
Elements Massage Green Lake https://elementsmassage.com/green-lake
Elliot Bay Brewery https://www.elliottbaybrewing.com/
Eric’s Garage https://ericsgarage.com/
Erin Schedler Photography https://www.erinschedlerphoto.com/
Essence https://www.essenceseattle.com
Eureka! restauarant Eurekaresataurantgroup.com
Eyes On You www.EyesOnYouSeattle.com
Fran’s Chocolates https://frans.com/
GPT Physical Therapy www.greenwoodpt.com
Gracious House to Home gracioush2h.com
Grand Central Bakery www.grandcentralbakery.com
Grateful Bread GratefulBreadBaking.com
Guardian Cellars/Jennifer Sullivan https://www.guardiancellars.com/
Hailey Machado Photo www.haileymachado.com
Hawthorne Hills Veterinary Hospital www.hhvh.net
Hokkaido Ramen Santouka https://santouka-usa.com/
Homegrown eathomegrown.com
Jack Jerome https://jackjerome.com/
Jet City Pizza http://www.jetcitypizza.com/
Joey Kitchen https://joeyrestaurants.com/
John Howie Restaurants https://chefjohnhowie.com/restaurants/
Junebaby www.junebabyseattle.com
Keepsake Frames https://keepsakeframes.com/
Kettlebility, LLC kettlebility.com
Kid’s Club https://www.salonkidsclub.com/
Kidd Valley https://www.kiddvalley.com/locations-university
L’Ecole No 41 www.lecole.com
LASER childcare https://www.laserchildcare.org/
Laurelhurst Museum Quality Framing www.mqf.com
Lessons In Your Home www.lessonsinyourhome.net
Lynwood Bowl & Skate http://www.bowlandskate.com/
Macrina Bakery & Cafe www.macrinabakery.com
Maple Leaf Ace Hardware http://mapleleaface.com/
Mat Chess Mixed Martial Arts MatChessMMA.com
Mathnasium of Northeast Seattle www.mathnasium.com/northeastseattle
Matthew Steele Salon and Spa https://www.matthewsteelesalonspa.com/
Mercer / Karen Bonomo https://mercerstore.com/
MFG Cyclocross http://www.mfgcyclocross.com/
Mighty-O Donuts mightyo.com
Mioposto Pizzerias miopostopizza.com
Mr. West Cafe Bar mrwestcafebar.com
Muddy Waters https://www.facebook.com/Muddy-Waters-Coffee-Company-75588958006/
My Nail Bar mynailsbar.com
New Roots Organics newrootsorganics.com
Northwest Outdoor Center www.nwoc.com
OOLA Distillery https://www.ooladistillery.com/
Orangetheory Fitness U-District orangetheoryfitness.com
Orlov Chess Academy www.chessplayer.com
Paint the Town https://uvillage.com/paint-the-town/
Paper Source University Village https://store-locator.papersource.com/locations/store/wa_seattle?quoteId=11132152
Party Display & Costume http://www.displaycostume.com/
Piano Playground www.pianoplayground.org
Piatti https://seattle.piatti.com/
Portage Bay Cafe www.portagebaycafe.com
Radiant Path Yoga www.radiantpathyoga.com
Rainglow Airbrush Tanning & Lashes www.rainglowseattle.com
Ravenna Brewing www.ravennabrewing.com
Ravenna Gardens http://www.ravennagardens.com/
Red Ochre Art Studio www.redochreartstudio.com
Remlinger Farms https://remlingerfarms.com/
Ridge Pizza www.ridgepizza.com
Riverbend Golf Complex https://www.riverbendgolfcomplex.com/
Roaring Mouse Creative Arts Studio https://www.roaringmouse.org/
Roosevelt Dental Center www.rooseveltdental.com
Sail Sand Point www.sailsandpoint.org
Salon Jolie https://www.salonjolie.love/
Salty’s Restaurant https://www.saltys.com/seattle/
Seattle Athletic Club (Northgate) sacng.com
Seattle Bouldering Project https://seattleboulderingproject.com/
Seattle Chamber Music Society www.seattlechambermusic.org
Seattle Drum School of Music seattledrumschool.com
Seattle Gymnastics Academy https://seattlegymnastics.com/
Seattle Piano Academy www.seattlepianoacademy.com
Seattle Sunshine Coffee SeattleSunshineCoffee.com
Seattle’s Performers www.seattlesperformers.com
Skin Spirit skinspirit.com
Slug City Cycles www.slugcitycycles.com
Squirrelly Workshop www.squirrellyworkshop.com
Studio 45 www.studio45seattle.com
Sunshine Cleaners https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2102845
Super Jock N Jill https://www.superjocknjill.com/
Tennis Center Sand Point www.tenniscentersandpoint.com
Tenzan Aikido https://tenzanaikido.com/index.shtml
TGA of Greater Seattle https://greaterseattle.playtga.com/
The Mountaineers mountaineers.org
The Seattle Drum School seattledrumschool.com
Third Place Books thirdplacebooks.com
Thistle Theater https://thistletheatre.org/
Thriving Garden Design thriving-garden.com
Tonic Salon https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2107408
University Book Store ubookstore.com
University Tutoring universitytutoring.com
Unversity Village www.uvillage.com
Uplift Writing and Communication www.upliftwriting.com
Van Gogh Coffeehouse http://vangoghcoffeehouse.com/
Veraci Pizza http://www.veracipizza.com/
Vertical World www.verticalworld.com
Vitality Pilates http://www.vitalitypilates.com/
Watershed Pub & Kitchen www.watershedpub.com
Wedgwood Broiler https://www.wedgwoodbroiler.com/index.html
Wedgwood Drama Studio https://wedgwooddrama.com/
Wunderkind / Some Fun Parents http://wunderkindseattle.com/