Updates from OSPI and SPS on Fall Re-entry

We’re starting to see more questions about what school may look like in the fall, and we’ll be providing resources and information as we have it.

OSPI is the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. They provide guidance for all the school districts across the state. Along with the Governor’s office, the OSPI has provided all guidance for school closures due to COVID-19.  OSPI has provided an update for the fall reopening of schools

School Districts then need to take this guidance and come up with a plan for their district that takes into account the specifics of their district. For us, that will be Seattle Public Schools and they have provided their plan for re-entry here. From there, each school building in Seattle Public Schools will need to take the district plan and apply it to their building, and each teacher will apply the building plan to their classroom.

When looking at information from OSPI, keep in mind that they are creating a framework for all districts, rural, suburban, and urban, across the state. There is tremendous variation in the districts. There are tiny school districts (Concrete School District served 524 students last year) and there are big school districts (Seattle Public Schools served 55,844 students last year). There are differences in terms of resources, the layout of school buildings, transportation needs, access to internet, and more, not to mention differences in how each area is being impacted by COVID19.

Please continue to check back to the OSPI and SPS for updates as summer progresses.

Bryant PTSA Anti-Racism Resolution and Call to Action

Dear Bryant Families and Community,
 
In our General Membership meeting this month, our PTSA passed a resolution on anti-racism which we encourage everyone to read.  Thank you to our PTSA Advocacy co-chairs for shaping this powerful statement in collaboration with our neighbor school PTSAs.
 
In the resolution, we commit to direct and substantive action and we’d like to elaborate with these immediate actions:
  • Building a lending library to promote anti-racist learning for Bryant families with a $500 grant from the PTSA budget
  • Forming a Families of Color Resource Group this summer, led by two PTSA board members and members of the Equity Committee (contact Equity@BryantSchool.org
  • Sharing an Anti-Racist Resource List here to support meaningful action in our community
With the strong leadership of our Advocacy and Equity committees, we’re redoubling our efforts to advocate for the eradication of structural racism, with a focus on educational justice. Our newly elected Bryant PTSA Board for the 2020-21 school year has more people of color represented. Going forward, our Board will work to bring a lens of equity and belonging to our decision-making and conversations. To hold ourselves accountable to these commitments, we will discuss our progress and additional actions in each PTSA Board meeting.  

We commit to this work as individuals, as an organization working to become anti-racist, and as a PTSA working toward an environment where our marginalized communities are centered and thriving.

Wishing you a safe and restorative summer,
-Bryant PTSA Board

References: 
Check out the resource list and the resolution on Anti-Racism
 
We also support these statements made by:

Passed: Bryant PTSA Resolution on Anti-Racism

Want to know why Minneapolis is burning?

Mama. He called Mama.

At least that’s why I want to burn, why I feel like I could scream until flames rip out of my throat. He has called up great power. I want all of us to turn, all of us who have heard Mama in a store and thought it meant us. It’s time to turn. White mamas, mamas with privilege, you have been summoned. And any of us who have ever cried out Mama, we hear it too, down in our bones. It’s a cry that can’t go unanswered anymore. So Minneapolis burns. And we need to gut all the spaces in our lives where systemic racism has quarter.

I think of the other mamas who turned a tide: Emmett Till’s, for one. We speak out of the deep mystery from whence all life springs. My white people: Nurture antiracism in your life like you would a child in your arms, even if you’ve only just heard it named. Learn what it means and how to foster it. Care about it, give it space in your life. Come to understand it, even if it’s difficult and challenges everything.

Mama is coming. And the men who make order in the world should be very afraid.

~Mary Helen Kennerly

PTSA Resolution on Anti-Racism

As PTSA leadership we are parents; many of us are Mama.  We have been summoned, and now is the time to answer, not simply with platitudes, but with action.  In PTSA that action takes the form of resolutions and policy.  It is time for us to acknowledge that we can be racist or anti-racist, but we cannot be neutral.  It is time for us to acknowledge our power, as well as the existence and pervasiveness of systemic racism.  It is time for us to fight for the education of our children in the hope that doing so will save the lives of our black and brown children and all children furthest from educational justice.

Whereas “the most fundamental right is the right to live” 1 and that right is being denied to black people across this country and in Seattle;

whereas systemic racism is embedded in every aspect of this country, including public schools;

whereas systemic racism in our school system is a major factor in the opportunity gap between white and black students;

whereas  we must choose whether to be a racist or anti-racist organization as there is no neutral space;

whereas PTA moves toward “every child. One voice,” but the voices and needs of black children continue to be left out and unheard;

Resolved, that Bryant PTSA commits to being an anti-racist organization.

Educates our PTSA members on issues related to anti-racism through hosting parent education events, providing anti-racism books and resources for families, and by including information on anti-racism in every PTSA Board Meeting.

Actively works to center the voices of our families furthest from educational justice by engaging with families.

Actively works with our school, Seattle Public Schools, the City of Seattle, and the State of Washington to provide opportunities and funding for professional development for anti-racism work.

 1Ibram X. Kendi https://www.facebook.com/ibramxkendi/

2019-2020 End of Year Letter from the PTSA Board

Dear Bryant Community, 

As the school year comes to a close, we wanted to express our immense gratitude to each individual in our Bryant community for supporting one another in this extraordinary year. We miss seeing you in person and look forward to reuniting in the future. We’d like to recognize our many leaders and volunteers for their great contributions and accomplishments in Bryant’s 2019-2020 year. 

First, we’d like to recognize our students who have been engaged all year in learning, helping and growing both at school and at home. We want to thank the parents, grandparents, siblings and other extended family who are supporting our students’ learning from home. Your commitment is an awesome inspiration.

Thank you to the Bryant Administration and Staff for creating memorable experiences for our community, including Multi-Cultural Night, the Bryant Misses You video, Bryant Parade, Fifth Grade graduation. We recognize all the ways that you’ve engaged our students and families and shown such resilience in difficult times.

Thank you to the many donors who have supported our successful fundraising programs, including the Annual campaign, Supplies campaign, silent Auction, and the Hunger Intervention and Hunger Prevention programs. We’re especially appreciative of your generous support of local schools in need via the September supplies campaign and the spring Hunger Prevention program. The Hunger Intervention Program (HIP) continued throughout the year with monthly grade-level food drives, and virtual fundraising after the building closure. And the Families in Need (FIN) program at Bryant continued to receive generous support from the annual PTSA budget. Thank you to the leaders of each of these vital fundraising and support programs.

Bryant has a long tradition of amazing volunteerism and community leadership. We want to recognize our PTSA board, committee chairs and leaders, and especially our individual volunteers. You create the rich community that we cherish. This year saw the formation of an Equity and Inclusion Committee in the Bryant PTSA to further inclusion and belonging for all families at Bryant by recognizing and celebrating our community’s diversity and addressing the needs of those furthest from educational justice. The PTSA was proud to pass an Equity resolution to declare the aspiration of equity to be core to its values, purpose and action and to put equity at the center of our endeavors, partnerships and collaborations. Our Advocacy chairs hosted a Meet Your Politicians event, including an unprecedented seven state, city and district political representatives at Bryant. There was a renewed commitment to Community Service this year, with families participating in multiple events, including the MLK Day of Service hygiene kit event. We also saw the introduction of new community building events and the continuation of the community speaker series. All of this wouldn’t be possible without our communications platform and team, including Facebook, the Weekly and BryantSchool.org. Thank you to the leaders and volunteers in these Equity, Advocacy, Community Service, Community Engagement and Communications roles.

We’ve been so inspired by the entire community’s continued commitment to our students and our school. As we look forward to next year, we will be working with the Administration toward a smooth transition in the fall. We wish you all a safe and healthy summer.

2019-2020 Bryant PTSA Board

Join us for the last PTSA General Meeting of the 2019-2020 School Year

All are welcome to attend our Last PTSA General Meeting of the 2019-2020 School Year on Tuesday, June 9th at 7:00 pm!

The virtual event will begin with Volunteer Awards then followed by the General Meeting. The agenda includes voting in our 2020-2021 Board and Reviewing and Approving the 2020-2021 Budget.

Join Microsoft Teams Meeting
+1 206-800-4787 United States, Seattle (Toll)
Conference ID: 424 096 594#

Thank you to these Local Businesses for Contributing to our 2020 Online Auction

Business Name Website
8 Limbs Yoga https://8limbsyoga.com/
Acorn Street Shop www.acornstreet.com
Alexis Landry https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2102860
All Together Skate Park https://www.alltogetherskatepark.com/
Alpha Martial Arts www.alphamartialarts.com
Andrew Franklin, DDS www.andrewfranklindds.com
AR Workshop Seattle https://www.arworkshop.com/seattle
Ba Bar University Village babarseattle.com
Bagel Oasis seattlebageloasis.com
barre3 Seattle https://barre3.com/
Bischofberger Violins http://www.bviolinsltd.com/
Body & Brain Yoga Tai Chi – Wedgwood www.bodynbrain.com/wedgwood
Bryant Corner Cafe http://www.thebryantcornercafe.com/
Burke Gilman Brewing http://www.burkegilmanbrewing.com/
Cafe Lladro https://www.caffeladro.com/locations/ravenna-caffe-ladro/
Calluna www.callunaseattle.com
Carol Calbom Tutoring  
Cascade Bicycle Studio http://www.cascadebicyclestudio.com/
Celtic Soccer https://www.seattleceltic.com/
City Eyeworks https://cityeyeworks.com/
City People’s Mercantile citypeoples.com
Community Fitness www.communityfitness.com
Conservation Catalyst www.conservationcatalyst.org
Creative Dance Center https://www.creativedance.org/
da Pino Restaurant https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2107350
DaisySkyStudio daisysky.com
Dance Fremont dancefremont.com
Duchess Tavern https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2114591
Duke’s Seafood https://www.dukesseafood.com/
Ebb & Company www.ebbandcompany.com
Elements Massage Green Lake https://elementsmassage.com/green-lake
Elliot Bay Brewery https://www.elliottbaybrewing.com/
Eric’s Garage https://ericsgarage.com/
Erin Schedler Photography https://www.erinschedlerphoto.com/
Essence https://www.essenceseattle.com
Eureka! restauarant Eurekaresataurantgroup.com
Eyes On You www.EyesOnYouSeattle.com
Fran’s Chocolates https://frans.com/
GPT Physical Therapy www.greenwoodpt.com
Gracious House to Home gracioush2h.com
Grand Central Bakery www.grandcentralbakery.com
Grateful Bread GratefulBreadBaking.com
Guardian Cellars/Jennifer Sullivan https://www.guardiancellars.com/
Hailey Machado Photo www.haileymachado.com
Hawthorne Hills Veterinary Hospital www.hhvh.net
Hokkaido Ramen Santouka https://santouka-usa.com/
Homegrown eathomegrown.com
Jack Jerome https://jackjerome.com/
Jet City Pizza http://www.jetcitypizza.com/
Joey Kitchen https://joeyrestaurants.com/
John Howie Restaurants https://chefjohnhowie.com/restaurants/
Junebaby www.junebabyseattle.com
Keepsake Frames https://keepsakeframes.com/
Kettlebility, LLC kettlebility.com
Kid’s Club https://www.salonkidsclub.com/
Kidd Valley https://www.kiddvalley.com/locations-university
L’Ecole No 41 www.lecole.com
LASER childcare https://www.laserchildcare.org/
Laurelhurst Museum Quality Framing www.mqf.com
Lessons In Your Home www.lessonsinyourhome.net
Lynwood Bowl & Skate http://www.bowlandskate.com/
Macrina Bakery & Cafe www.macrinabakery.com
Maple Leaf Ace Hardware http://mapleleaface.com/
Mat Chess Mixed Martial Arts MatChessMMA.com
Mathnasium of Northeast Seattle www.mathnasium.com/northeastseattle
Matthew Steele Salon and Spa https://www.matthewsteelesalonspa.com/
Mercer / Karen Bonomo https://mercerstore.com/
MFG Cyclocross http://www.mfgcyclocross.com/
Mighty-O Donuts mightyo.com
Mioposto Pizzerias miopostopizza.com
Mr. West Cafe Bar mrwestcafebar.com
Muddy Waters https://www.facebook.com/Muddy-Waters-Coffee-Company-75588958006/
My Nail Bar mynailsbar.com
New Roots Organics newrootsorganics.com
Northwest Outdoor Center www.nwoc.com
OOLA Distillery https://www.ooladistillery.com/
Orangetheory Fitness U-District orangetheoryfitness.com
Orlov Chess Academy www.chessplayer.com
Paint the Town https://uvillage.com/paint-the-town/
Paper Source University Village https://store-locator.papersource.com/locations/store/wa_seattle?quoteId=11132152
Party Display & Costume http://www.displaycostume.com/
Piano Playground www.pianoplayground.org
Piatti https://seattle.piatti.com/
Portage Bay Cafe www.portagebaycafe.com
Radiant Path Yoga www.radiantpathyoga.com
Rainglow Airbrush Tanning & Lashes www.rainglowseattle.com
Ravenna Brewing www.ravennabrewing.com
Ravenna Gardens http://www.ravennagardens.com/
Red Ochre Art Studio www.redochreartstudio.com
Remlinger Farms https://remlingerfarms.com/
Ridge Pizza www.ridgepizza.com
Riverbend Golf Complex https://www.riverbendgolfcomplex.com/
Roaring Mouse Creative Arts Studio https://www.roaringmouse.org/
Roosevelt Dental Center www.rooseveltdental.com
Sail Sand Point www.sailsandpoint.org
Salon Jolie https://www.salonjolie.love/
Salty’s Restaurant https://www.saltys.com/seattle/
Seattle Athletic Club (Northgate) sacng.com
Seattle Bouldering Project https://seattleboulderingproject.com/
Seattle Chamber Music Society www.seattlechambermusic.org
Seattle Drum School of Music seattledrumschool.com
Seattle Gymnastics Academy https://seattlegymnastics.com/
Seattle Piano Academy www.seattlepianoacademy.com
Seattle Sunshine Coffee SeattleSunshineCoffee.com
Seattle’s Performers www.seattlesperformers.com
Skin Spirit skinspirit.com
Slug City Cycles www.slugcitycycles.com
Squirrelly Workshop www.squirrellyworkshop.com
Studio 45 www.studio45seattle.com
Sunshine Cleaners https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2102845
Super Jock N Jill https://www.superjocknjill.com/
Tennis Center Sand Point www.tenniscentersandpoint.com
Tenzan Aikido https://tenzanaikido.com/index.shtml
TGA of Greater Seattle https://greaterseattle.playtga.com/
The Mountaineers mountaineers.org
The Seattle Drum School seattledrumschool.com
Third Place Books thirdplacebooks.com
Thistle Theater https://thistletheatre.org/
Thriving Garden Design thriving-garden.com
Tonic Salon https://www.32auctions.com/organizations/19857/auctions/75207/auction_items/2107408
University Book Store ubookstore.com
University Tutoring universitytutoring.com
Unversity Village www.uvillage.com
Uplift Writing and Communication www.upliftwriting.com
Van Gogh Coffeehouse http://vangoghcoffeehouse.com/
Veraci Pizza http://www.veracipizza.com/
Vertical World www.verticalworld.com
Vitality Pilates http://www.vitalitypilates.com/
Watershed Pub & Kitchen www.watershedpub.com
Wedgwood Broiler https://www.wedgwoodbroiler.com/index.html
Wedgwood Drama Studio https://wedgwooddrama.com/
Wunderkind / Some Fun Parents http://wunderkindseattle.com/